The Hauora Māori Training Fund has been developed for the Kaiāwhina/unregulated Māori health and disability workforce.

The funding can be used when attending a training programme to complete a relevant qualification to support delivery of health and disability services to Māori.

Successful applicants will be selected on the following criteria:

  • be currently employed by a DHB health/disability service, or by a health/disability service that is funded by the DHB or the Ministry of Health
  • demonstrate a commitment to and/or competence in Māori health and/or disability studies
  • have Māori whakapapa and/or proven cultural links with Te Ao Māori and Māori communities
  • be a New Zealand citizen or hold a New Zealand permanent residency permit as conferred by the New Zealand Immigration Service
  • have evidence of support by their current employer to meet the training requirements
  • meet the entry criteria required by the training provider
  • complete a registration form for Kia Ora Hauora
  • submit their CV and career plan
  • provide evidence of any NZQA training and results.

The specifications exclude applicants:

  • who receive scholarships or other funding from the Ministry of Health that covers any of the same components as this specification
  • who are studying in a programme not approved by NZQA
  • already in a sponsored study programme
  • who are Mental health workers, nurses, allied health professionals (separate funding is available)
  • who are studying for degrees or masters programmes.

To discuss eligibility or training programmes, please contact your local DHB in the first instance. They will work with you and the training provider to ensure the training you undertake will assist the trainee achieve their academic and career aspirations. A selection process will consider all applications.

For further information about the Hauora Māori Training Fund and to apply, please contact your local DHB.  (Click on the DHB below to send an email to your Regional Coordinator).

Bay of Plenty DHB Northland DHB
Canterbury DHB Southern DHB
Capital and Coast DHB Tairawhiti DHB
Counties Manukau DHB Taranaki DHB
Hawkes Bay DHB Waikato DHB
Hutt Valley DHB Wairarapa DHB
Lakes DHB Waitemata DHB
Mid Central DHB West Coast DHB
Middlemore Hospital Whanganui DHB
Nelson Marlborough DHB