Contact Us

Careerforce is proposing that two new unit standards replace 28543 Māori Operating Principles and Values, currently listed on the Directory of Assessment Standards (DAS). They will sit in the Health and Disability Principles in Practice and Community Support Services domains.

We invite stakeholders and programme providers to provide feedback on the two new unit standards.

If your organisation wishes to comment on the standards, please contact before the close of business on Friday 15th of January 2021.

In response to consultation the following new unit standards are proposed:

1. Describe Te Tiriti o Waitangi, the Treaty of Waitangi and a bi-cultural approach in a health and wellbeing setting (Level 3, 6 Credits); 

Download and read the US document – Te Tiriti o Waitangi

2. Demonstrate an understanding of Māori values by supporting tangata whai ora through a bi-cultural approach (Level 3, 4 Credits).

Download and read the US document – Māori values

The consultation included recommendations to:

  • recalibrate the credit value to reflect the work required;
  • enhance the clarity of outcomes and performance criteria;
  • allow greater flexibility in how Te Tiriti o Waitangi and Treaty of Waitangi are examined and applied to maintain relevance for our diverse sectors;
  • adjust the purpose and outcomes to a level 3 standard (currently pitched too high);
  • model and reflect the importance of a bicultural approach.

The image below graphically represents the proposed changes:

Download graphic of proposed changes